Gratitude and Rainbows

Whenever you think of the word “Gratitude,” what comes to mind?

According to the Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary, “Gratitude is a feeling of appreciation or thanks. The state of being grateful.”

For me, the word gratitude always comes to mind whenever I think of my family, my blessings and the beginning of my journey as a newly signed author represented by Blue Tulip Publishing. I am thankful for the people in my life. Those who love me for me and support me in all of my crazy dreams. No matter how many rainbows I chase after, they are there yelling, “Run, Linda, Run!” I just had a flashback from Forest Gump. Seriously. I hope you have these same kind of people in your life. That’s my wish for you.

I have always loved to write. It comes in with a close tie to my love of reading. I have always been a nerd. It’s sad, but true. Secretly, I think nerds rule. I believe that everyone has a story to tell. Some do so more eloquently than others, but each one is just as important and meaningful. Below is a condensed version of my story that I would like to share with you and some words of advice.

My journey as an author requesting representation began four and a half long, long years ago. During this time, through countless rejections, some kind and some not so kind, I kept doing what I loved and that was writing. I believe that God has given us each one something that we are good at; something in which we excel. It may be writing. It may not be, but whatever you are good at… that is your talent. The little spark that drives you and helps to make you….You.

Believing in yourself is the just the start. Regardless of what others may say your dreams are yours. I decided long ago, even if I never became a published author, that I was indeed a writer and would still keep on writing regardless. So while you’re in pursuit of your own rainbow, don’t forget to enjoy all of the little things in life. It may be the smell of honeysuckle in the air when you step outside in the morning, the smell of your coffee perking, the sunshine warming your face or the rainbow stretched magnificently across the sky after a storm. Enjoy what is here right now. Live in the moment. Remember, these things take time. Rome wasn’t built in a day. At least, that’s what I’ve always heard. It may be days, months even years but keep trying. Don’t give up. Do what makes you happy. Discover and pursue your passion. Live the life, you want to live.

On June 15th, my first book, Chasing Rainbows will be released and I am so excited and grateful! There is a ton of hard work, muscle and elbow grease that goes into preparing a book for publication; edits, cover art, more edits, promoting, formatting, etc. You get the picture. I was clueless when I first began the journey. It has been such a learning experience for me, but I have loved every little step and I’m still learning. No, it’s not all easy peasey, but nothing in life worth having is. My heart is filled with gratitude and appreciation for all of the wonderful people at Blue Tulip Publishing who decided to give my story a shot and let it have wings. There is also the feeling of accomplishment. For me, the greatest reward will be when I hold the actual book in my hand. Of course, I’m not crazy. I want to have good sales and hope that my reader’s fall madly love in love with my story, but the thought of holding an actual paperback book in my hand filled with my thoughts and ideas makes me want to hyperventilate and pass out. Seriously, I could scream.

So, count your blessings. Stay positive. Work hard. Be thankful for all of those little things in life each day even the barking dog at two o’clock in the morning. Be kind to others, even those who are not kind to you. Yes, I mean the guy who cut you off and stole your parking space. Let it go. Don’t let  these little bumps in the road ruin your day or dull your shine. Follow your heart and your dreams. Awaken each day with a grateful heart. Remember, life is a gift and time is precious. Make your seconds count. Chase your rainbows!

Let your light shine and oh by the way, don’t forget to smile!

Linda

Check out my Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Linda-Oaks/1027845900562470?ref=aymt_homepage_panel. You can also find me on Twitter, Goodreads, Wattpad and Instagram.

4 thoughts on “Gratitude and Rainbows

Leave a Reply

